March 1, 20203:00 pm

Tullow RFC vs Newbridge RFC (LTP) – MATCH REPORT:

Playing the winners of the Leinster Towns Cup of two years ago this was a match that Newbridge knew that they were up against it. And so, it proved with Tullow playing in the Leinster League a division above Newbridge. Tullow won scoring 5 tries with 4 converted and a penalty to Newbridge’s 1 try and a penalty.

Playing into the wind on a very cold day Tullow were off the mark in the 7th minute when winger Ryan O’Neill got over for a try in the corner. Newbridge put on the pressure in the 13th minute recycling the ball at every opportunity for centre Denis Clarke to make the break offloading to fullback Karl Darragh to score a good try. In the 22nd minute Tullow No. 8 Stephen Smith got over from a wheeled scrum under the posts for a try converted by outhalf Paul Canavan. This wheeling of the scrum was a feature that Newbridge were unhappy with as it had gone beyond the 90-degree mark and with the Tullow prop boring inwards. In the 26th minute Karl Darragh reduced the arrears with a penalty from 30 metres. With another wheeled scrum Tullow wing forward John Hanbridge touched down for Canavan to convert. The last 10 minutes were spent near the Tullow line as Newbridge kicked their penalties into the corner, but good Tullow defence kept them out. The half time score was 22 points to 8 in favour of Tullow.

Cameron English came on for Mark Doyle in the 43rd minute as did Nicholas Harrington. Tullow scored another try from a wheeled scrum in the 54th minute through Stephen Smith with Canavan converting. Sebastian Berti and Fergal Doyle came on to the Newbridge team in the 70th minute. Right on the final whistle Tullow got their final score through second row Martin Cole which was converted by Canavan.

Best for Newbridge were Brendan Tiernan at wing forward and Patrick Commane at prop while Mark Delaney at scrum half and Denis Clarke in the centre did well.

Newbridge: Patrick Commane, Will Jennings, Brendan Commane, Scott McMullan, Pierce Dargan, Brendan Tiernan, Jeff Draper (Capt), Mark Doyle, Mark Delaney, Paul McDonald, Stephen Cooke, Denis Clarke, Billy Delaney, Eimhin Conroy, Karl Darragh. Subs: Cameron English, Brian Kelly, Nicholas Harrington, Sebastian Berti, Fergal Doyle.

Newbridge are away to Mullingar on Sunday next at 3.00pm in their final Leinster League game. This match is vital for Newbridge as they play the Divisional League winners in what is their survival battle in Division 2.