January 23, 20222:30 pm

Leinster League Division 2A

De La Salle Palmerston 19 Newbridge 9

DLSP, the Leinster League leaders, got the better of Newbridge this time round. Newbridge had beaten them at home by 19 points to 17. This was a very tight game but DLSP utilised their possession much better throughout the match. DLSP scored 2 tries and 3 penalties to Newbridge’s 3 penalties.

In the first half it was neck and neck the whole way as DLSP firstly got off the mark with a penalty after 12 minutes from close in. Newbridge utilised their winger Zach Meehan as he ran on to a beautiful grubber kick from Waters. With the line in sight the pass was knocked on in the backs as the line beckoned. Newbridge equalised in the 18th minute through outhalf Robbie Waters with a kick from 22 metres. On 30 minutes wing forward Denis Clarke made a telling run as he drove up field. A mistake from Newbridge backs who failed to collect a kick ahead which allowed the DLSP to score a try in the 39th minute. The half time score was 8 points to 3.

Newbridge raised their game in the second half but when the DLSP winger raced down the line and then clearly knocked on the ball well short of the line surprisingly the referee gave the score. Newbridge missed two penalties in the 53rd and 55th minutes. DLSP had a player yellow carded in the 63rd minute as Waters slotted a penalty from 35 metres. DLSP kicked a penalty in the 71st minute from under the posts. Waters was on hand again in the 74th minute with a kick from 40 metres. The final score of the game came with the last kick of the game with a penalty from DLSP.
Newbridge were not as tactically adept as DLSP in that they constantly ran ball back into the pack while the opposition utilised their kicker to good effect.

Best for Newbridge were Cameron English in the second row and Tom Treacy at number 8. In the backs Robbie Water got plenty ball while Zach Meehan looked threatening when in possession.

Newbridge: Dave Morgan, Will Jennings, Brendan Commane, Mike Doyle, Cameron English, Dinny Clarke, Jeff Draper (Capt), Tom Treacy, Kevin Commane, Robbie Waters, Zach Meehan, Oliver Feigan, Billy Delaney, Willie Ryan, Mark Delaney, Subs: Alex Mateus, Alfie Thompson, Donal Cashman.

Referee: John Dunne