February 20, 20223:00 pm

Leinster League Division 2A

Athy 38 Newbridge 3

Newbridge faced a very difficult task having to travel to Athy for the last game of the season with the home side needing a win to be crowned Leinster League 2A champions. Conditions were atrocious and credit to the Athy grounds staff who worked tirelessly getting the main pitch playable for the 3pm kick off. A big Athy crowd was very vocal and created a great atmosphere for this contest.

A injury hit Newbridge started the game with a strong wind at their backs but failed to take advantage of the conditions despite going ahead early through a Robbie Waters penalty. Athy playing into a very strong wind kept it tight and their pick and drive game was very effective. Newbridge defended well for large periods but Athy broke the deadlock with a Try under the posts to lead the game after 20 minutes. This was quickly followed up with another Try from a good kick and chase touched down under the posts to leave the score 14-3 at half time.

Newbridge had a mountain to climb in he 2nd half but the more dominant Athy pack and ill-discipline from Newbridge, resulting in three 2nd half yellow cards made this task impossible. Despite some spirited tackling from the Newbridge men and a never say die attitude, Athy wore them down and added three more Tries to leave the final score at 38-3. This was Newbridge’s biggest defeat for some time but credit to a great Athy side who were crowned worthy league winners and the only side Newbridge failed to beat this season.

Newbridge can be proud of their league campaign finishing with 9 wins, a draw and 4 defeats to secure a 3rd place finish. This is a young squad and they will learn a lot from this season as we hope to push for promotion next year.

Special mention goes to Oliver Feagin, who played his final game for Newbridge before jetting off to Dallas this week to join up with his new team the β€œDallas Jackals” in the MRL. We wish Oliver all the best as he sets out on his next Rugby adventure.

Newbridge: Dave Morgan, Will Jennings, Cameron English, Scott McMullan, Mike Doyle, Alfie Thompson, Jeff Draper (Capt), Dinny Clarke, Kevin Commane, Robbie Waters, Zach Meehan, Oliver Feagin, Karl Darragh, Fergal Doyle, Donal Cashman. Subs: Alan O’Connor, Callum Reynolds Sourke, Patrick Corbett, Adam Bingham, Daire Timmons, Liam McGovern.

Next up for Newbridge is a home fixture in the Provincial Towns Cup against the Midland Warriors on Sunday March 6th.