March 6, 20223:00 pm

Leinster Provincial Towns Cup

Newbridge 59   Midland Warriors 5

Newbridge secured a comprehensive home win in the first round of the Leinster Provincial Towns Cup against a spirited Midland Warriors side who are based in Moate, County Westmeath in glorious conditions. Newbridge scored 9 tries with seven of them converted and a penalty to North Midlands one try.

Despite missing several key first team players, Newbridge started brightly and opened the scoring early though winger Zack Meehan scoring a try after he had kicked ahead before touching down in the corner. Newbridge then squandered several good chances before outhalf Donal Cashman was put clean through to touch down under the posts. Another try from Zack Meehan after a cross field kick from centre Karl Darragh put Newbridge into a commanding 19-point lead. Just on the stroke of half time, the visitors struck back after some poor tackling from Newbridge to leave the half time score at 19-5.

It was scrappy start to the second half and there wasn’t much to separate the sides but then two quick scores from Newbridge, firstly from debutant Dylan O’Keefe and then Cashman’s 2nd of the day put Newbridge in a commanding position. After that, the floodgates opened, with further tries from second row Scott McMullan, two from hooker Will Jennings and Zack Meehan completing his hat-trick put the tie to bed with the final score 59-5.

Best for Newbridge were Fergal Doyle at full back who looked threatening in attack and Dylan O’Keefe who made a big impression coming in for his first taste of senior rugby. In the pack, hooker Will Jennings was a constant threat in the loose and team captain Jeff Draper, who marshalled the lineout and led from the front all day.

It was a great day in Rosetown, and a first Towns Cup win since beating Carlow in round 2 in 2014. This now sets up another home fixture next Sunday (13th) against Clondalkin. Kick off in Rosetown at 3pm.

Newbridge: Dave Morgan, Will Jennings, Brendan Commane, Scott McMullan, Cameron English, Alfie Thompson, Mike Doyle, Jeff Draper (Capt), Kevin Commane, Donal Cashman, Zack Meehan, Ronan Skehan, Karl Darragh, Liam McGovern, Fergal Doyle, Callum Reynolds Sourke, Adam Bingham, Brendan Tiernan, Robbie Waters, Dylan O’Keefe.